New BASSET Law Takes Effect July 1 – Are You Ready?
Brian R. Israel
Beverage Alcohol Sellers and Servers Education and Training (BASSET) is Illinois’ responsible beverage seller/server program. In the past, the program was not required by the state, although a few municipalities required it by local law. Beginning July 1, 2015, all sellers, servers and others involved in the sale of alcohol across Cook County will be required to hold a BASSET card and all cardholders (across Illinois) must renew their certification every three years.
BASSET was designed to encourage responsible alcohol sales among the state’s hospitality industry professionals. According to the ILCC’s website, the goals and objectives of the BASSET Program are to:
- Train and educate sellers and servers to engage in responsible alcohol service;
- Spot signs of intoxication and utilize various intervention techniques;
- Prevent DUIs and alcohol-related fatalities;
- Stop underage sales and underage drinking;
- Create safer communities and establishments where alcohol is served; and
- Educate owners, managers and staff on dram shop insurance, state laws and local ordinances regarding alcohol service.
The card issued after completion of the class and passing of the examination must be carried by the person whose name appears on the card when involved in the selling and/or serving of alcohol. Lost cards can be replaced for a $15 fee.
The ILCC offers free BASSET training in Cook County, and almost 300 licensed third-party organizations offer the training for a small fee (usually around $15) across the state. For some larger businesses, it may make sense to offer an internal BASSET class. Any individuals wishing to teach BASSET should complete the instructor training course and submit the BASSET License Application to apply.
Be sure you are aware of all the past and future requirements in your area. For questions, contact Brian Israel at firstname.lastname@example.org or call him at 312.670.7444. Visit orba.com to learn more about our Restaurant Group.